Day 14: Applying for Unemployment

April 14, 2011 at 11:32 pm (Uncategorized)

I finally got up the courage to apply for unemployment. I first went to the state of Virginia’s unemployment web site to find out the process, and was pleasantly surprised that I could go online to apply. I went online and answered the questions in the five sections. The online prompts then told me that I would receive my “pin” or “code” in the mail in a few days and once I receive that I can begin calling in or reporting my job contacts online each week. I was also told that it was mandatory that I sign up for the Job Search within 5 business days or my claim for unemployment would be closed. I’ll report back when I have more information, but if you live in Virginia and need to file a claim for unemployment you can do so at the following link:

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/vecportal/seeker/jslogin.cfm

Leave a Reply

